Perspective

There is a good trick I use whenever I get blocked in my writing or other creative output: changing my perspective. There is a lot of value in having your own consistent creative space, but there is also value in seeing things in a fresh way, outside the norm of your regular routine. I usually write in bed, but the other day I decided to go to my kitchen table and sit facing my window to do my writing. There was a breeze and a new view that I wasn’t used to seeing, and I felt much more alive, creative, in control and comforted by the act of writing than I have in quite a long while. A bunch of stored up, forgotten ideas and images began to emerge for me to write about. It was a simple change, but with profound results. I ended up with more than 10 pages of writing that day, and got up feeling refreshed and happy.

If you see the same things in the same way over and over again, it will stifle your creative side and block any new thoughts or ideas that want to emerge. My suggestion is to take a short trip, maybe even just to a new park, or take a train someplace you’ve never been that’s not too far. Or, rearrange the furniture in your living room and bedroom if you have the space. The energy that moves around will change, and so will your outlook. You’ll be slightly surprised when you see your living space again, since your mind has become so conditioned to seeing it a certain way. This will awaken you.

Change your daily routine – the clothes you wear – the people you talk to – the food you eat – the way you spend your evenings – the amount you walk versus driving – the time you spend looking up at the sky. And see how alive you feel. Go sketch in the park and listen to children play, write in a coffee shop, people watch in a crowded place, practice your observational skills, visit a beach and pause to take it all in with your senses. Live in the moment and realize that it is an entirely new one that has never happened before, and will never happen again. Variety is the spice of life. Life is always changing and is full of possibilities. So try to always view things in a new way, for the sake of your art, your creative ideas, and your mental well-being.

November 13, 2012. Tags: , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

