If I Had My Way

Prompt: If I had my way….

My response:

If I had my way, everything that tastes delicious would be good for you. If I had my way, children would always behave, the perfect song would always be on, passion for things and people would never fade. I would have long periods of time in which there was nothing to do but sit and reflect. If I had my way, my days would be free to spend in any way I wish, instead of at a day job that I don’t like because I don’t know what else to do. If I had my way, I would never be required to get out of bed and go anywhere early in the morning.

If I had my way, I don’t think I would ever work again, and be taken care of by someone else- or if that’s not possible, I would want to be able to take a year or a month off from working. I’d get a chance to take a breather, to think, and a chance to experience life the way it really is. If I had my way I would live in a climate that is always warm and not humid- maybe around 70 degrees all the time, where it never ever snows.

If I had my way, my parents would never die. If I had my way, I would never grow old and would always be full of energy for the things I want to do and the person I want to be and the things I want to experience. I would have my old brain back and never have the experience of a panic attack or need medication. If I had my way, I would have the discipline to meditate, exercise and write every day.

If I had my way, the daily newspaper would be filled with inspiring poems-different every day, instead of bad, scary news. If I had my way, people would be able to date for however many years they wanted to without constantly being asked about marriage and babies. If I had my way, all people would be able to live their own lives without question or input from others about how to live.

If I had my way, no one would need to hear pointless criticism about their appearance. If I had my way, there would be more national holidays to allow the workforce more rest, which all human beings need. If I had my way, I’d hire a personal trainer to whip me into shape. And I would be able to write poetry as easily as I used to, every single day. If I had my way, life would always be as simple as it is now.

December 24, 2012. Tags: , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

