The Art of Living Part 2

(continued entry from 1/5/2012)

This year, I’m going to go out and meet new people, and fill my mind with brand new thoughts and ideas. I’m going to open myself up to the world that is just there- waiting for me to explore it. If I am here, alive right now, then there has to be a reason. There has to be more in the world for me to learn, more people for me to meet, and more places for me to discover.

I can always let go of the past, and accept it as simply the past. The future doesn’t have to be a continuation of the past if I change the way that I think. Because with my thoughts I create my reality. And I can choose thought. I can choose in any moment to be curious and observant and present, and not resist anything. I can choose not to be afraid or overwhelmed. I can choose to change life today by doing something new and out of the ordinary.

I can go to a new place which will cause my mind to be altered, cause me to have new thoughts. I can remember to be aware of how I think, and become separate from my thoughts. I’m going to make it a priority to meditate every day. Meditation reminds me that I’m in complete control, and that whatever happens is for my highest good. I can think that the world is either for me or against me. And thinking that it’s for me makes me feel a lot better.

Maybe my picture of happiness is different from the rest of the world’s. All I know is that I’m tired of ignoring my own mind with distractions. Distractions make negative thoughts worse because they become suppressed rather than dealt with.

There’s tremendous freedom in realizing that you can do only the things you want to do, the things that fill you with light and good energy. There’s no need to eat at specific times if you don’t want to, or go to events you’d rather miss, or stay inside just because it’s cold outside. Maybe at that moment, all you really need is a breath of fresh air.

January 9, 2013. Tags: , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

