Ghosts in New York

(Entry below was hand written on 1/30/2002. I think I was reading The Bell Jar at the time of this writing, shortly after the events of 9/11/2001)

The things that book makes me notice. Like the weird way the subway escalator makes noises. It sounds like a bunch of people running up the stairs all at once. Only once I reach the stairs, there’s no one around.

So when I’m going down the escalator, there’s this weird feeling that thousands of ghosts are running up to me, toward me, but I can’t see them. I’m afraid I’ll run smack into one of them.

I realize that now, especially now more than ever, there are ghosts in New York. Ghosts, people with hidden agendas, and people leading secret double lives, like I am. It’s easy to be invisible here. The ghosts just add to the mad frenzy. They are no less frantic than the living. Everybody’s restless.

January 21, 2013. Tags: , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

