100 Things I’m grateful For

(Entry below was written on 11/9/08. Some things on it are no longer relevant, I should make a new list. I think this prompt came from the book Journal to the Self by Kathleen Adams. I highly recommend it. Gratitude is an excellent practice that puts you in a great mood)

Prompt: List 100 things you are grateful for

My Response:

1.  My family
2.  Privacy of my apartment
3.  Having tea to drink
4.  Having enough money for bills
5.  Being able to read and write
6.  The freedom to meditate
7.  The uplifting effects of music
8.  Having my period (because it means I’m not pregnant)
9.  The chance to escape reality through TV and books
10. Memories of childhood

11.  Alice in Wonderland
12.  Moments when I feel truly relaxed and calm
13.  Chocolate
14.  Having clear skin
15.  Having long hair
16.  Having clean clothes
17.  The new quilt my mom gave me (reminds me of living at home)
18.  All the food I have available to eat
19.  Having enough money to shop if I want to
20.  The feeling after meditation

21.  Watching movies about photograpy/photographers
22.  Reading inspirational things online
23.  The new coffee shop that opened around the corner of my apartment
24.  My Ipod
25.  That I don’t need much make up
26.  The smell of the ink in the pen I’m writing with (sweetly scented)
27.  The ability to create a blog online
28.  The way that writing anything changes my mood and brings me back to myself
29.  The feeling that anything is possible
30.  Knowing that I can go from one state of mind into another

31.  Feeling rooted, grounded, happy, and grateful
32.  Having more than enough clothes to dress myself
33.  The ability to express myself in my choices
34.  Not having that week-long tension headache anymore
35.  (private)
36.  Looking forward to watching (my favorite TV show of that time) tonight
37.  Having the freedom to think about what I want, to stay up late and pretend I don’t have to work in the morning
38.  The fact that it’s not very cold outside yet
39.  The fact that I’m not 30 yet

40.  Having a job to distract me from negative thoughts
41.  Knowing that my mom is OK with my not getting married anytime soon
42.  The ability to pray in any way that I want to (silently or through writing) at any time of the day that I choose
43.  Having a boyfriend to ease my loneliness and give me support
44.  Entertaining the possibility that I could do more with my life
45.  Watching Ryan (my nephew-2 years old at the time) do anything
46.  Living close enough to my parents so that they can drive me home if I go to visit (no longer applies)
47.  Knowing that there is more than just one possibility in my life, and that once I have been in my current job for a while, I have the option of looking for
something else
48.  The freedom to look at fashion magazines and consider my own new look
49.  The freedom to skip making and eating dinner to do something more fun
50.  Knowing that there are only 8 hours in a day for a job to hold me hostage, and possibly less, if I learn how to make my schedule flexible

51.  Being able to turn my focus back on all the beautiful things in life
52.  The possibility of being the subject of a painting
53.  Being with someone who has ambition and a plan for his life- is inspirational to me
54.  The fun of the act of writing
55.  The multitude of websites about creativity, writing, and positive things
56.  Having the internet home to access any time I wish
57.  The ability to download almost any song online and carry it with me everywhere
58.  Making a conscious decision to choose the mood I want to be in
59.  Recognizing when my body needs a rest- and taking it
60.  Having control over my thoughts

61.  Having a hot shower or a warm bath
62.  Having a job that allows me to have my own apartment
63.  Having free time to do with whatever I wish
64.  Remembering moments of serenity and happiness from the past
65.  When I remember to live in the present moment
66.  When God blesses me and takes all my worries away
67.  Finding something in a picture in a magazine, or a book, or a band, or a song that resonates deeply with my spirit***
68.  When everything in my apartment is in order
69.  Knowing that I will be off from work on the last week of the year
70.  Feeling at home in my body, in my own skin

71.  Realizing that I understand myself, even if nobody else does
72.  Getting exited about payday or the end of a workday
73.  Getting to do a writing exercise that I had been putting off
74.  Anticipating the bonus I will be getting in January
75.  When I remember to actually slow down and take my time in life and do things one step at a time
76.  Having enough money to buy gifts for others
77.  Having enough money/credit to possibility straighten my hair for a few months (I don’t advise this!)
78.  Changing my handwriting or clothing or make-up to suit my mood
79.  Having other people respond to what I have written
80.  Being able to spend more time with my parents

81.  Thinking back to the good old days of childhood when I had no stress and was happy most of the time
82.  Remembering going out with my parents when I was little, and always feeling safe and happy and calm
83.  Sneaking in writing at odd times of the day
84.  Feeling good about getting out of bed and facing a new day
85.  Having a bookshelf full of writing books with exercises and a bunch of other books that never fail to capture my interest
86.  Trusting that God and the universe will lovingly take care of me
87.  Having the choice of filling my mind with positive images
88.  When the urge to write comes along
89.  Knowing I still have my freedom because I don’t have kids
90.  Having the new red purse my mom gave me

91.  Always leaving my mom’s house with a bunch of new things that I need, and extra gifts
92.  Having my health
93.  The shoulder tension reliever with aromatherapy that my mom gave me from Avon
94.  When my parents or boyfriend offer to take me grocery shopping
95.  The taste of chocolate and strawberry milk
96.  The fact that Ryan (nephew) now knows my name
97.  Knowing my dad cured himself of his depression, because it reminds me that I can also cure myself of anything
98.  The fact that I am so blessed and have so many things to be grateful for
99.  The freedom to visualize the very best outcome
100. Knowing that I can feel renewed by the choices I decide to make each day

January 24, 2013. Tags: , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

