Be True to Yourself

(Entry below was written on 11/5/2010)

When I got home from work today, I had a package for me that I have been eagerly  awaiting: Shannen Doherty’s new book- Badass: A Hard-Earned Guide to Living Life with Style and (the Right) Attitude. I spent the last two hours reading through it because i just couldn’t wait.

I really admire Shannen and couldn’t wait to read her advice on life, being authentic, taking charge in relationships- personal and professional, and expressing personal style in fashion, makeup, clothing, decor and entertaining.

It was a very entertaining book, with lots of pictures from photo shoots, candids, personal and baby photos, and a smattering of interesting personal stories. A lot of what she wrote resonated with me, but then some things haven’t as I am not as far along on my self-reflection journey as she is, at 39 years old.

She seems to have found this simple way of living that has her own personal stamp and personality all over it, and that’s what I strive for in my life. I want my life to be my own, and not dictated by pleasing others or living some role or some lie.

I read through the book way too fast but it did have a lot of solid advice and made a lot of sense. You can see how getting older has made her wiser and more grounded. she is unapologetic about who she is, and I love that.

It wasn’t all seriousness though. she lists some ‘badass’ lipstick and nail polish shades that I can’t wait to check out too! I still regret not going to see her when she was signing copies of her book at Columbus Circle when I could’ve easily gone after work, but I had already bought a copy of the book online by the time I heard about the signing.

I enjoyed this list towards the end of the book (especially #9):

Top 10 Rules to Living the Badass Lifestyle

1. Be True to Yourself.

2. Be Honest with Yourself and Others.

3. Be Brave.

4. Be Adventurous.

5. Be Kind.

6. Be Bold.

7. Be Well-Informed and Well-Educated.

8. Be Self-Motivated.

9. Be Just a Little Bit “Off.”

10. Be Confident!

February 27, 2013. Tags: , , , . books, writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

