To Thine Own Self Be True

(Entry below was written on March 03, 2006)

One of my close friends in high school wrote (in a birthday card for me) that quote from Hamlet, “To thine own self be true.” She wrote that I should always remember that. And for some reason I always have. I tend to come back to that when I’m faced with any decision.

I finally finished reading The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho today. It took really long because it kind of lost me in the middle and I put it down for a while. I really liked it, I think it’s a strange story, but has hidden truths that suddenly strike you. I liked the ending a lot because I was afraid it was going to be a metaphorical thing but it ended up not being that way.

I read what were probably the most inspiring passages of the book while I was sitting at a noisy Starbucks today during my lunch break, so I may have to go back and reread those. I notice some parallels with the other things that inspire me, like meditation. It makes you feel like you are capable of anything, I definitely recommend The Alchemist.

The next book on my list is a book called On a clear day you can see yourself. Cheesy title, I know, but it’s pretty interesting. I started it already. It’s about all the ways women torture themselves trying to fit into some role that other people in their life and in society choose for them, and how to break out of that and find out what’s truly important to you. It’s about living life the way you truly want to live it.

I hate starting a new book when I’m already in the middle of another one, but I always end up doing that. and I always buy books when I have plenty waiting for me at home that I haven’t read yet. But being addicted to books is better than being addicted to other things.

A couple of good quotes:

“It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”
-Paulo Coelho, Alchemist

“The simple things are also the most extraordinary things, and only the wise can see them.”
-Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

“Everyone seems to have a clear idea of how other people should lead their lives, but none about his or her own.”
-Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

“People are capable, at any time in their lives, of doing what they dream of.”
-Paulo Coelho, Alchemist

March 13, 2013. Tags: , , , , . books, writing.

One Comment

  1. We Live because We Choose To Live | Pi For An Average Guy replied:

    […] To Thine Own Self Be True (rubyrandomthought.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

