Count your Blessings

I was in this weird, but good mood today. I had this strange feeling of gratitude for the simplest, stupidest things. Like I was really looking forward to having lunch and I thought..isn’t it a remarkable thing that we can eat? Aren’t we lucky? Not only for the fact that so much of the world lives in poverty (and we are blessed if we know where our next meal is coming from).

The actual way it feels to eat is something you shouldn’t take for granted. The wonderful taste of the food; the satisfied full feeling that comes afterwords; the variety of different foods that are out there. I could never understand how people could resist food. I know eating disorders are mental and everything and are about maintaining control over something, but I can’t even imagine resisting food. It is such a pleasure.

Then I started to feel grateful for literacy. I mean, I am able to read and write and create. And I have a healthy, sharp mind. Those qualities can keep you entertained for quite a while. We have the option to be creative spirits, to be expressive, to choose what clothes to wear everyday and read whatever we want, and write whatever we want. We are free.

I think about people who are mentally challenged in some way, or who were never encouraged while they were growing up, and I feel grateful for the gift of words and ideas.

Isn’t it amazing that we have friends and family that we can count on? Someone to call in those quiet, lonely moments? People that care deeply about us? I’m not about taking anything for granted. The fact that we are able to hear is another gift, we can take great pleasure in music, lose ourselves in it, see the world in new ways through the eyes of others. We can take it all in and draw our own conclusions, hold on tightly to those things that inspire us and let them wash over us as many times as we want.

Maybe it’s a result of meditation, or maybe it came from finding a particular quote yesterday (at the bottom of this post). I don’t know. I came upon the quote randomly while I was clearing out an old hard drive. It was in some old notepad document that I had completely forgotten I had saved, followed by a couple of writing prompts that go more into the idea of the quote. Here is the quote and the writing prompts:

“Listen to your life. See it for the fathomless mystery that it
is. In the boredom and pain of it no less than in the
excitement and gladness: touch, taste, smell your way to
the holy and hidden heart of it because in the last
analysis all moments are key moments, and life itself is
grace.”
-Frederick Buechner, Author, in “Now and Then”

prompts:

How often do I take time to really listen to my life?

How can I peel off the layers and agendas of day-to-day living in order to seek and acknowledge the true grace that lies within my grasp?

How do I apply my inner listening externally in positive ways to my relationships?

March 15, 2013. Tags: , , , , . writing.

2 Comments

  1. neenslewy replied:

    It’s so hard to do this in the pace of the world today – which makes it even more special when we do. Small miracles.

  2. ksocorro replied:

    Yes, that’s so true.
    🙂

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

