Blue Like Jazz and Fruits

(Entry below was mostly written on October 18, 2005, revised a bit)

In case you were wondering about it, I thought I’d write about that book I mentioned a couple of entries back (in my entry titled ‘Back in the Days of Borders’)- Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller. I loved it and found it very profound and moving. It’s a lot like reading a blog actually.

The prose is vivid and very absorbing. It really resonates, and I found a lot of my own private thoughts spelled out in the book. It was comforting. If you have a chance to read it, I would definitely recommend it.

I was at borders yet again today because a while ago I bought this book I really liked and I found out there was a sequel to it. So now that I can finally afford it, I had to run out and get it. The first book was called Fruits, a photography book of youth Japanese street fashion.

These kids take it to such a creative level. Their outfits totally express who they are and I find it really refreshing: that they want to be individual and express something unique about themselves through their clothing. They are really inventive and inspiring.

I could never understand how people could want to look like everyone else walking down the streets, like that whole Louis Vuitton handbag craze. Why would you want the same bag that everyone and their mother is walking around with? I’d be afraid that someone might pick up my bag at a party thinking it was theirs and leave with it. No originality there.

Here’s the blurb about the sequel to Fruits which is cleverly titled, Fresh Fruits:

Fresh Fruits is the second collection of Tokyo street fashion portraits from Japan’s premier street fanzine. ‘Fruits’ was established in 1994, by photographer Shoichi Aoki, initially as a project to document the growing explosion in street fashion within the suburbs of Tokyo. The magazine has grown to cult status and is now avidly followed by thousands of Japanese teenagers who also use the magazine as an opportunity to check out the latest styles and trends.

The average age of the kids featured in the magazine is between 12 and 18, and the clothes that they wear are a mixture of high fashion – Vivienne Westwood is a keen favourite – and home-made ensembles which when combined create a novel, if not hysterical, effect.

This second extensive collection of portraits represents a unique documentation of the continually changing face of street fashion.

—-

Looking through the first Fruits was complete eye candy, and there are little descriptions of the kids: the origin of each piece of clothing they wear, and their current obsession, where they would name things like ‘energy’ ‘happiness,’ their boyfriend or girlfriend’s name or ‘making my own clothes.’ So cute.

I wish I could afford to go to Tokyo. I wish I could afford to travel the world.

“I’m not interested in being provocative. Anybody can be provocative by wearing a low-cut top and a short skirt. I’ve certainly worn provocative clothing, but a lot of the time it’s so I don’t look like everybody else. I don’t want to look like the next person.”
-Shirley Manson

March 20, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , . books, writing.

2 Comments

  1. Jodie replied:

    I haven’t read the book version of Blue Like Jazz but I really enjoyed the movie.

    • ksocorro replied:

      Oh, there is a movie? I didn’t know! I will check it out, thanks!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

