“I want you to play me something..

and I want you…

to make it good”

Shirley Manson said these words to Eric Avery at the Garbage show I went to at Hammerstein Ballroom in April of 2005. While she spoke, she held the top of the microphone stand with one hand and turned half away from the crowd, looking down at the floor the whole time. As the crowd started screaming, he started the intro to Sex is not the Enemy on the guitar, muscles flexing, and Shirley sang the first “ooo ooo.”

It was one of those moments in time that was pure perfection. It could never be repeated. It was one of those rare moments when you realize you’re alive and everything makes sense and you recognize breathing and seeing and hearing, for the illuminating gifts that they are. It’s one of those unforgettable images that stays with you, haunts you, promises you there is much more to living than anything you can imagine.

It’s weird how every day is different. I’m slowly starting to realize that. It’s very subtle but every single morning is a fresh start. It’s a new chance for something different to happen, the possibilities are endless. You never really stop to think about it, but it’s true. You could meet a new best friend tomorrow, or get a chance to do something kind for someone, or get a surprise in your favor, or find something out that is the clue to your future happiness.

I’m not repeating the same day over and over anymore. I’m stretching myself and what I believe to be possible. And everyday I feel that I’m getting a little bit better at it, a little bit further.

Shirley Manson

Shirley Manson

March 22, 2013. Tags: , , , . Music, writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

