Freedom, Shoes, and Day Planners

(Entry below was hand written on 9/23/2012)

I love freedom. The freedom to be able to come and go as I please. The freedom of long stretches of time with nothing to do and nowhere to be. The freedom of not having anyone to answer to but myself. The freedom to read or sleep or watch movies or eat. The freedom to sit on  a train on a nice day and look out the window. The freedom to take picutres and listen to music, and to write- no matter what time it is.

My body is sore and I’m tired, but there is still so much more I want to do. Luckily, I have the whole day free tomorrow. Today I voluntarily went into the city, something I have not done in a long while. I went to the free market at Madison Square Park which was from 12pm to 3pm, but I ended up only staying about an hour.

It helps when I feel sad or alone, to go out into the world and observe people and listen to them talk or watch them just go about their lives. There’s a certain comfort in that. We are all the same. We are all just human beings, no one greater or lesser than anyone else, just trying to make our way in the world.

There were a lot of “Occupy Wall Street” people in the park, trying to spread the word about their cause and start a revolution. The actual free stuff people brough to give away wasn’t that plentiful. I picked up two books of poetry, some clear binder sleeves, and a lipstick/gloss that was unused. I was going to go back later to see if anything else was put out but was too tired after more shopping and went home.

From the free market, I walked down to East 17th Street to Barnes and Noble to look at the Nook tablet, which I really want now, and then went to DSW to find nude shoes for the dress I’m wearing to my cousin’s wedding next Friday. I found the perfect pair of shoes, plus a cute evening purse that appears to be covered in blush-colored rose petals. I also found a pair of knee-high brown boots which I have been wanting for a very long time.

I then went to staples which is about a block away from DSW, and I finally bought daily calendar/planner refills that fit into a small, binder/porrfolio thing that I’ve been holding on to since college. I always wanted to refill and reuse it for something, as a journal or a calendar because I just love the scaly feel of the outside covers.

The binder is small and black and has a pen hole attached and pockets on the inside covers which make it very convenient and nice to use. I used it as a day planner in college and now it kind of sucks that I can’t use it again until next year.

April 26, 2013. Tags: , , , . fashion, writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

