Friends, Fears, Introversion

The other night I saw some of the movie Jennifer’s Body on TV. It played on a Spanish language channel and was overdubbed in Spanish, which was kind of amusing.

Megan Fox and I have certain things in common. She has been quoted as saying that she has no friends and never leaves her house. This allows her to stay away from the horrors of Hollywood. She also has a fear of flying, and says she listens to Britney Spears music to stay calm while on a flight because she knows it’s not her destiny to die while listening to Britney Spears.

That may seem odd to people, but it makes sense if you have certain fears like this. You have to sort of trick yourself into staying calm. I feel the same way about Madonna’s music. When I listen to it I feel completely calm, because it takes me to another time in my life when I didn’t have fears or stresses.

I’m glad I’m not the only person who doesn’t feel the need for friendships. Luckily for her, her looks allow her to have a husband who overlooks this personality flaw, if you want to call it that. He loves her and married her anyway. I hope one day for the same, even though I don’t resemble Megan Fox at all. At least it’s nice to know that it’s possible to have a husband who cares only for you as a person, and not how social you are in the rest of your life.

Some people just don’t have the gift for socializing. It’s a skill that some people have and others don’t. Maybe it’s just a matter of time, until I feel more confident in who I am. I don’t know. But friendships take work to maintain and for me, I just don’t know how to make them happen and make them last. It’s been a lifelong struggle.

Some people are just introverted and social contact drains them. They live more inside their own minds than out in the real world, and there really isn’t anything wrong with that. It takes all kinds of people to make up the world, otherwise it would be a pretty boring place. There’s no reason to fight against your own nature or who you are. I spent a long time feeling inferior to extroverted people, but I’m going to stop, because no one is any better or worse. We are all just different, unique individuals.

May 22, 2013. Tags: . movies, writing.

2 Comments

  1. h2oboy34 replied:

    There is nothing wrong with being yourself!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

