The Passion of Writing

(Entry below was written on January 15, 2009)

My day job allows for very little, if any, creativity and thought. The most I will have to do is create a spreadsheet, diagram, or summarize meeting notes. Not very thrilling.

If I had it my way, I would get paid to write all day. I would write whatever I want to: poems, plays, essays, blogs, articles. who knows? Maybe I would even attempt a book. I would take writing courses, join critique groups, maybe self-publish a poetry chapbook.

Writing is my passion and it would be nice to live my days just doing that. I think I would be in my element; completely happy and using my mind in a creative way, and it would be relaxing at the same time.

Another great thing about writing is the solitude. The slowing down and inner reflection. These things are impossible in a bright, harsh, sometimes loud office setting filled with electronic devices.

In this setting there are often annoying personalities sitting in close proximity to you, allowing you precious little time to really think, to get your work done properly without distractions, and to get at least 2 things done without the phone ringing off the hook. Writing for a living would be like playtime. It would be light and carefree, solitary and peaceful. But still productive, engaging and fun.

I want a room with a view, a room of my own, a la Virgina Wolfe who said that a woman needs a room of her own in order to write. I can’t seem to think right today.  I am all over the place and it doesn’t feel right. It’s hard to explain. Maybe my shadow self is slowly trying to take over..

May 23, 2013. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

