Blessings and Miracles

I’m currently rereading The way to love; the last meditations of Anthony De Mello and it’s because of the following passage. This paragraph turned my day around and made it bright again:

“Third, spend some time observing the things and people around you. Look, but really look, as if for the first time, at the face of a friend, a leaf, a tree, a bird in flight, the behavior and mannerisms of the people around you. Really see them and hopefully you will see them afresh as they are in themselves without the dulling, stupefying effect of your ideas and habits.”

When I first read this book, this passage is what stayed with me, haunted me. And reminded to always see the world and everyone with fresh eyes, as if for the first time. Of course, reading the book as a whole, slowly, is much better.

I’ve always been aware and grateful for all the blessings in my life, and now even more I can see how abundant and beautiful life is, with all the things it holds for me to still discover.

There’s no feeling like forming a new friendship with someone and getting their take on the world, or doing something different to break your routine, or reading an amazing book, or listening to music you’ve never heard before and getting a glimpse of the singer’s view of the world, or reading a friend’s writing and discovering a whole other side of them you never knew, or creating a piece of art or writing that is all your own, or having that experience of someone opening up to you and trusting you.

All those little things can feel like miracles, if you stop to take note of them. The world becomes a very different place when you change your perspective. I still have my bad days and sad days, but I know that there’s another way to feel, and I don’t get stuck in one state of mind.I know it passes and I can get out of it and feel better again.

May 27, 2013. Tags: , , . writing.

One Comment

  1. The tragedy of an attachment | E'n'M replied:

    […] Blessings and Miracles (rubyrandomthought.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

