Dicard the Unnecessary

“To change skins, evolve into new cycles, I feel one has to learn to discard. If one changes internally, one should not continue to live with the same objects. They reflect one’s mind and the psyche of yesterday. I throw away what has no dynamic, living use.”
-Anais Nin

I think this quote is absolutely true. Everyday for the past few days I have been throwing away unnecessary things. A lot of things from the past, from someone I used to be. I found an old notebook today that has been sitting on my bookshelf for about 10 years. It reflected nothing of who I am today.

Inside this notebook, I found old meaningless poems and short journal entries that were from a whole other life when I was in college. I don’t know why I thought there was anything valuable about that notebook or why I felt the need to hold on to it for so long.

It’s amazing the hold that material possessions can have. But I’m very sentimental about things. I can’t seem to let go of old journals especially. I even have some from when I was a little girl, just because it’s fun to look back at my little girl handwriting and innocent thoughts. I also hold on to a lot of clothing for sentimental reasons, and that’s not good. It clutters out the present. Holding on to too much of the past keeps people from moving forward.

I really like open spaces and having that just-moved-in feeling. It makes me consider the possibility of moving on again to somewhere better. I like thinking about my things in terms of whether I have outgrown them or tired of them or do not consider them my style anymore. As we change and evolve, the things we own can sometimes lose their resonance.

June 9, 2013. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

