Beyond My Comfort Zone

(Entry below was written on 10/11/2011)

I went to a free yoga class tonight, a second one. The first one I went to was last Tuesday and I thought it really helped to relax me and calm my mind because all the focus is on stretching and feeling the body, and breathing through the movements.

I enjoyed it and even got to meet someone there who works in publishing, so we started emailing each other and we decided to go out to eat after tonight’s class so I could ask her about her publishing job. I got a lot of good information and am going to still strive to make the leap into publishing. It’s what I have to do if I am ever going to realize my dream of becoming an editor and editing books for a living.

On our walk from the yoga class to the restaurant we were going to, my yoga friend ran into one of her friends. He was nice and as he said goodbye he told us to enjoy the rest of our stroll and look at the moon. It was a full moon behind a mist of clouds.

During this little exchange I couldn’t help but think of what a relief it was to be out among people again after having not gone to work for a couple of weeks and holing up in my apartment. It was really hard to get myself out to go try the yoga class, but it was worth it in the end.

Even today, I had a bad headache and was lying down but then I realized I had to get up and get ready to leave because the meeting with this lady tonight who works in publishing could lead me later to the job that I have always wanted.

Most jobs are found through contacts and friends, and since I don’t have many friends to ask, I have to try to meet new people and make contacts that way. It is better than staying home and watching as my resume disappears into the abyss of the internet as I apply for jobs that a million other people are also seeing and applying for at the same time.

The bookstore offering the free yoga class that I attended will also be offering a meditation class in November, so I’m looking forward to trying that out as well. meditating with a group of people is a lot easier than meditating alone, at least for me.

June 22, 2013. Tags: , , . writing.

2 Comments

  1. animatingyourlife replied:

    Great post, thanks for sharing so honestly and openly. Moving outside our comfort zone can be such a challenge, but it’s always worth it.

  2. ksocorro replied:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it, thanks for your comment. 🙂
    I know what you mean, I keep trying though, a little bit each day so that my mind remains awake and aware.

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

