When I Grow Up, I’ll be Stable..

(Entry below was written on 1/18/2012)

Today on my way home, I heard two women on the train talking. One was talking about her husband’s sister who is in high school and always complains about having to go to school the next day and her homework and stuff like that. And the woman said, “I say to her, trust me when I tell you- this is easy.” And she was so right.

The other woman replied by saying “Yeah, once you start working, it’s all over.” I totally understood. It reminded me of when I was 16 and off from school over the summer and sad about stupid things like not having a job or many friends to hang out with. I was upset because my life didn’t look like 90210. I didn’t have an attractive group of friends around me who were silly, funny and fun. And I didn’t have a boyfriend.

My grandfather told me on my 16th birthday that I was in the prime of youth. I wish I had really heard him and realized it.

If I could just go back and tell myself to really enjoy that time. To bike ride and write poetry and sleep and meditate and relax and not be sad about anything! I would really do so. If I could only tell myself that summer can hardly be enjoyed once you enter the working world, unless you become a teacher or something.

But working in an office? work doesn’t stop for the summer. It barely stops for holidays or two week’s vacation. It barely gives you a minute to breathe or to think or to plan your dreams, so enjoy it while you can, while you’re young, and don’t take for granted the opportunity to not have any responsibilities, to not have to take care of and support yourself.

Because it’s an amazing luxury that I miss every single day. If any teenagers are reading this, take note. Don’t be in such a rush to grow up.

(Title of this post is a lyric from a Garbage song)

June 22, 2013. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

