Any Age Again for a Week

Prompt: If you could be any age again for a week, which would you choose?

My response:

I would choose to be 19 again for a week if I could. Being 19 was my favorite age because I still felt very young and like I had a lot of time to decide what to do with my life, and the option to make changes. I was in college, and the summer I was 19 I was very happy.

The album Version 2.0 by Garbage came out that year and I was obsessed with it, listening to it a lot and watching the videos that were released with it and feeling an amazing high every time I got lost in that music. I also bought and listened to all the B-sides that Garbage released. I remember watching The Fifth Element that summer, and loving it as well.

Lots of orange was around me, the cover of Version 2.0 (and the insert booklet) and all the orange colors in that movie, The Fifth Element. I guess that added to my overall happiness and great mood. I felt free and had no responsibilities. I once read that orange is a color that promotes happiness, and I really felt happy at that age. I felt that anything was possible.

I didn’t have much of a social life. I still lived at home and just enjoyed simple things. I went to my college classes, listened to music, watched films, enjoyed my mother’s cooking, read stuff online, read books. It was a wonderful time in my life. I remember feeling happy and hopeful at that age.

There was no relationship or work stress, no feeling like I’m somehow off track or behind because I haven’t reached certain life milestones. There was no comparing myself to others’ accomplishments or happiness. It was just simplicity every day. Every day just spent expanding my knowledge of the world and of myself.

July 3, 2013. Tags: , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

