Nomadic Life Prompt

Prompt: If you could live a nomadic life, would you? Where would you go? How would you decide? What would life be like without a “home base”?

My response:

Living a nomadic lifestyle is something that I hope to be able to do someday. Only because I’ve always been so attached to a home base and I feel like a lot of the time I’ve let that define me and keep me from exploring the wider world. I remember walking through Liberty State Park this past Memorial Day and coming upon an area on the water where people kept their sailboats. I would love to have a sailboat.

I walked around the docks for a while looking at the boats and one of them was named “Gypsy Soul.” I loved that name, and that idea. If I could live like a gypsy and never have a set schedule/location/routine, that would be so different from what I’m used to and I think that it would benefit me. I don’t know where I would go.

Maybe it would be Taos, NM (because of Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones), or Bali (thanks to Karen Kingston’s Clear your Clutter with Feng Shui) or maybe to Tokyo, Japan, just because I’ve always wanted to go there. I’ve always said that if I won the lottery, I would travel the world, decide which country I liked the best, and live there for the rest of my life.

No one grows by remaining in their comfort zone. Being uncomfortable and in an unfamiliar place forces you to rely on yourself and makes you realize that who you are doesn’t go away just because you are taken out of your familiar surroundings. I have always been sort of homebody. But I don’t really see the point of what life is all about if we cannot allow ourselves to redefine who we are. It’s bold, liberating and powerful to break away from all your old stories and beliefs about yourself.

All we need to do is lose our fear and take a chance. I’ve been tempted to leave my comfortable, stable life many times, but I tend to return to the security of knowing what to expect. I want novelty and new, different experiences to be my new routine. I just hope that I can get there, overcome my fears and live the life that is waiting for me to jump into it. I’ve always envied people who are risk takers, who are not afraid to live their lives their own way. Maybe I can learn to become one too.

It reminds me of that quote I love by Mary Oliver: “What is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” It’s a serious question, and worth pondering. It won’t do us any good to remain in our same ruts. Maybe tomorrow we’ll decide to lose everything we own, set on a new course and discover who we really can be out in the big, wide world.

“Nothing in life is set in stone,
there’s nothing that can’t be turned around”
-Garbage (Androgyny)

July 20, 2013. Tags: , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

