Why Do You Want to Write?

Prompt: Write about why you want to write.

My response:

I want to write because my inner voice is incessantly chattering and I want to give it an outlet. I want to write because the physical act of writing is fun and feels good and natural to me. I want to write because when I do, I feel better about myself. I feel that writing is my purpose.

Writing allows my voice to be heard and improves my mood. I want to write because writing makes me feel important, and happy. Writing is the easiest way for me to express myself.

I want to write in order to leave a legacy of my own. I want to write in order to illuminate the shining moments in a mundane life. I want to write in order to leave proof that I existed. I want to write because getting a chance to have my say is refreshing.

I want to write because I have a unique point of view. No one has ever seen or will ever see the world exactly the way I do. I want to write because not writing is painful, and opening the floodgates through writing is a great release for pent-up emotions.

I want to write because of the way it soothes the raw places inside me. I want to write as a form of communication- in the hopes of forming a connection to other human beings. I want to write because I am flawed, but writing makes me feel powerful and in control. I want to write because I have a few empty, waiting, beautiful journals to fill with my words and my thoughts.

I want to write because writing is quiet. It’s a calm respite in an extremely loud world. I want to write to connect to my own inner stillness and peace. I want to write so that my thoughts have somewhere to go and rest. I want to write for the possibility that someone else may finally understand me.

Why do you want to write?

July 31, 2013. Tags: , , , . writing.

2 Comments

  1. Ajax replied:

    Great article! πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

