One Word Prompt

Prompt: Technology
(Found on this site- http://blog.tglong.com/blogflash2013-march-2013-30-days-of-flash-blogging/)

My Response:

Technology. I love it and I hate it. For a long time I refused to get a smart phone, because I was just fine using my phone as a phone and thought that having the internet with me everywhere I go would become too distracting. And it has. I can’t tell you how many times a day I check twitter and my emails on two email accounts. I need to figure out how to turn off the little pings that go off whenever a new email comes in.

I’m not too bad with texting, except when work is slow. But it does cause an eye strain to be reading all day. And I love to read. But a screen is not good for my eyes, especially right before bed, it’s terrible for relaxing the mind and getting to sleep. The reason I got a smart phone was to be able to better see pictures of my niece and nephew when my sister would send them.

I made the mistake of downloading the app for the Buzzfeed site. This is the biggest time waster! But I just can’t seem to tear myself away from it. I read it when I should be writing, when I should be working, when I should be exercising or meditating or doing anything else. It’s almost worse than getting sucked into hours of television, because you are reading a tiny screen in your palm.

It’s terrible for those of us who tend to procrastinate. I have an Ipod and a digital camera as well, though I don’t use the camera much. Digital pictures, I’ve noticed, have become less and less necessary to print out unless you get a particularly great shot that you want to show off or look at often.

I do use my Ipod though, usually when I take long walks and want some music to keep me motivated. This has become the only way I listen to music lately so I’ve been trying to look into getting some speakers so I can listen to music without having to wear ear buds. I think the Ipod was a great invention. I’m not too savvy yet on syncing my music to my phone since my phone is not an Iphone, but I guess I will get around to that with time.

I think technology can’t ever compare to real experiences and the natural world, so I’m glad I didn’t grow up in a time when it was as prevalent as it is today. I still had a beeper in college and only got a cell phone later on, and I am grateful for that, because otherwise I don’t know how focused I would have been on my college coursework.

August 9, 2013. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

