Nature Prompt

Prompt: Nature

My Response:

I enjoy being in nature. I like wide open areas like parks and beaches. I hate congestion and crowded cities. I’m starting to realize that more and more. Nature is so fascinating when you are young, but as you grow up, you stop paying as much attention. And it’s only when you do something out of the ordinary, like go on vacation, do you stop and really observe the world more closely.

Nature is abundant and always in motion. But it moves at its own pace, effortlessly. There is something very meditative about a rain storm, whether gentle or thundering, or the pattern of waves on a beach.

It’s a spectacular show and I feel a bit cheated by all this technology and all these screens constantly surrounding people these days, and children. I’m glad I did not grow up in these times and got to experience a good part of life without the internet or smart phones.

I know I spend way too much time indoors and away from nature, and that is not good. I promised myself I would get out more this summer. But personal challenges have been holding me back. I’m working to overcome them but it is a long and difficult road. I will be spending this weekend with my parents.

They have a beautiful house and a pool and I can’t wait to just hang out in the back yard and relax in their company. And maybe go for a swim. My apartment always feels so cramped and small whenever I come back from visiting them.

I could always move in with my parents. But do I really want to do that at my age (34)? I just don’t know how that would work. But maybe for now, I can simply enjoy a break from here and a weekend with loved ones, and more time spent outdoors than indoors.

Observing nature slows you down, and humbles you. It’s hard not to feel your problems are small when you are looking up at a vast sky overhead.

“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.”
-Lao Tzu

August 15, 2013. Tags: , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

