Success Prompt

Prompt: Success

My Response:

Success is a loaded word. I thought I was a success working at a job that could pay my bills and wasn’t too stressful, and afforded me enough money to live on my own. But now my job’s changed. It’s changed several times over the years but now it’s something that I don’t enjoy at all and I’m wondering how to change that. It’s not completely terrible, but it’s not what I want to do either. The problem is that I’m not sure what I want to do.

I don’t know if I could handle the pressure of trying to make my passionate interests the source of my income. It seems like that would suck the joy out of every interest I have, whether it be editing or writing. If you are forced to do that day after day, surely it would get tiring like anything else.

I guess I haven’t found what I would do and be able to never get tired of doing. I’ve always been writing my whole life, but as everyone knows, freelance writing isn’t the most stable profession. And I really like the security of knowing when I will be paid.

I think success is being satisfied with what you have, who you are and what you’re doing. Also, living an authentic life. I struggle with that. I try to please other people. To this day I’m in a corporate type of career (working on a laptop even though it’s from home) but it’s in a way that’s manageable for me now.

I don’t know if I could do the regular, going into the office every day type of job anymore. It’s just so tiring and unfulfilling. I envy people who get to work with their hands, to do something physical and create.

I think success is feeling alive every day, and like you’re following the right path, the one that feels right to you. It’s a tricky thing to find but it’s important not to give up. Even though I’ve been at my job for 10 years and have a lot of paid time off accrued, that doesn’t mean I should stop searching for a job I enjoy more. After all, I have to spend 8 hours engaged in a job every day. It’s just hard to know which one is right until you try, and then sometimes fail, and then decide it’s time for a change.

I’ve never been extravagant. For me, success would be living in a modest home, having leisure time to spend doing whatever you want, and having enough money to cover expenses and give a few luxuries to yourself and your loved ones.

There’s no reason to live in excess, it doesn’t make people any happier, at least not me. And there are far too many people living in poverty for me to ever feel that I need more success. I am grateful for what I do have, because I’ve been blessed to not have to work too hard but still be able to make my living. And my boss is nice as well, you don’t always find that and I don’t take it for granted. I think being a success means being happy with who you are and what you have.

 

August 29, 2013. Tags: , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

