Zumba Workout

Recently I decided to try out a Zumba class. Since I’m intimidated by gyms, I thought a class would be a good way to exercise with other people and still have fun. I’ve taken dance classes before so I knew as long as it was a beginner level class that I’d be able to follow along with the steps. The first class was very challenging, but great fun as well. And a great workout for the whole body.

The class I took was an hour long, and I wasn’t used to that. Usually I work out for about a half hour or 20 minutes. So when I was already out of breath after the warm-up and saw that we were only 10 minutes into the class, I was shocked! But I kept with it. The music motivates you to move and keep up with the instructor, and the music she chose was fun as well.

The dances were in short segments so we had a chance to rest and get a drink of water after each one if we needed. I made the mistake of not bringing a water bottle with me to the first class so I had to dash over to the other end of the big gym where there were some water fountains.

Unfortunately, that water was warm, but it was better than nothing! I was also shocked to find that I was able to walk all the way home afterwards, since the class is held about 12 blocks from my apartment.

I’ve always wanted to try Zumba and I’m glad I signed up for these classes. There’s something about dancing that just makes you feel happy and free, and knowing you are working out at the same time is a big plus.

Nobody really knows what they’re doing so there’s no reason to feel self-conscious. Everyone just does the best they can and enjoys themselves. I’m a bit sad that there won’t be a class this week because of the Jewish holiday (the class is held at a Jewish Community Center).

I love Zumba because there comes a moment in the middle of a class where I just feel so powerful, in control, free of any anxiety or worry, and totally in the moment.

It’s exhilarating, fun and makes you want to take control and be more awake and intentional in the rest of your life. I would recommend Zumba to everyone, even people who thought they hated exercising, like me!

September 3, 2013. Tags: . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Weekly Wednesday Workout Wrapup « Ms Crooked Halo replied:

    […] Zumba Workout […]

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

