Gratitude Prompt

Prompt: The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone)

My Response:

I’m thankful for many things in my life. I’m thankful for my senses that work well and allow me to enjoy things like food, music, hugs, beautiful sites of nature. I’m thankful for my body that works and is healthy and allows me the freedom to move through the world.

I’m thankful that I have savings in the bank, no debts, and a good job with a boss I get along with. I’m thankful for my family who loves me and wants to help me in any way they can, even when I isolate myself.

I’m thankful for exercise that makes me feel good, for the chance to join a class and exercise with other people to energizing music. I’m thankful for positivity blogs on the internet that help me become aware that I can change my thinking and have more compassion for myself.

I’m thankful that the other day, a lady in the supermarket let me go ahead of her in line because I had fewer items to buy. I’m thankful that people can do random acts of kindness like that whenever they feel like it.

I’m thankful that my entire family survived 9/11 even though I was on my way into Manhattan when it was happening and my mother was working in midtown.

I’m thankful that I can breathe easily and have healthy lungs and have never harmed myself by trying smoking or anything else like that. I’m thankful that I have a lot of time off because I’ve been with my company for so many years, and that I have health insurance as well. I’m thankful for people who are good listeners, and those who accept me for who I am without question or condition.

I’m thankful that I have the ability to write, to express myself, to create something that is all my own. I’m thankful that the world is full of new things to learn, new people to encounter, and new experiences all the time.

I’m thankful that I realize my life is rich and full and abundant, and that I live very well. I’m thankful for the chance to give my time and assistance to others which makes me feel better about myself.

September 12, 2013. Tags: , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

