Turning Depression Around

Prompt: When I’m depressed…

My Response:

When I’m depressed, I do whatever I can do to improve my mood and feel better. I’m not someone who enjoys wallowing in depression. That’s something you do as a moody teen, not a mature adult.

When I’m not in the best mood, I remind myself that all states of mind are temporary, and when you’re in one state of mind, it’s hard to remember what it’s like to be in any other state of mind. And I remember how I feel when I’m exercising, or meditating, or writing, or doing something else enjoyable.

Exercising to offset a bad mood always works. You get into your body and the present moment and out of your head where all the misery is. Cardiovascular exercise is invigorating and reminds you that you are alive, you have possibilities and capabilities for change, and that you are in control.

Meditation daily, or as often as possible is also great for relieving depression, at least for me. I get more in touch with the present moment by meditating, and I practice being an observer of my thoughts and emotions. Being an observer allows you to separate yourself, be objective, and notice you emotions and thoughts as things that come and go. This way, you don’t allow your emotions and thoughts to take you over.

When I’m depressed, I also listen to music I love, sometimes while going for a walk. I focus on the music entirely and get lost in it, and forget about whatever else I was feeling. I think about all the things I’m grateful for in my life and that always makes me feel good too. Maybe because I enjoy simple things so it doesn’t take much to make me feel happy.

I feel that there are too many good things in my life, and too many possibilities for me for me to ever wallow in sadness or thinking about things that I lack. I am employed, all my basic needs are covered, and I have support and love from my family. There isn’t much more that a person really needs.

Also, I can write and express myself and be creative. That is a wonderful blessing and something to never take for granted. The miracle of thinking, breathing, observing, having one’s own mind and opinions and impressions; it’s an amazing thing.

Meditation renews your childlike wonder about the world and everything in it. So I would recommend this above all. Meditate, have gratitude, exercise, be creative, read good books, take care of yourself and enjoy the life you’ve been given.

October 19, 2013. Tags: , , , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

