College Prompt

Prompt: College taught me…

My Response:

College taught me, primarily, how to get a job. Although classes like Philosophy also opened my mind up to new ideas, and as an English major I gained extensive knowledge about literature. But what I remember most taking away was the many ways we were taught how to find work.

I remember learning about conducting informational interviews of people working in industries I had an interest in, different ways to network, how to write a great resume and how to handle interviews.

I even once underwent a mock interview in the career office. I was told I was poised and confident and had good eye contact. It was a little nerve-wracking but I was very prepared. I felt ready to go out and look for work, which I guess is a good thing to take away from college.

Someone once told me that when people get bachelor’s degrees in English, all that basically says about the person is that they finished college. That comment made my heart sink, but it turned out to be the truth.

Being an English major only, and not studying anything else in combination with English, led me to office jobs that I tolerated because I needed a job. They gave me a chance because I finished college I suppose. I tried getting into publishing but I had only taken one journalism course.

I thought the two internships I did (one in high school and the other in college) would help somewhat to get my foot in the door also, but they didn’t do much. I did learn while on those jobs, but maybe not as much as I would’ve liked. I didn’t have the confidence at that time to ask for more responsibility, or to try to get an internship at a more prestigious company.

I liked college and I’m glad that I went, though if I had to do it over again I would choose to major in library science. Now that I have a few years of work experience behind me, and know what the working world is like, I definitely would’ve made a different choice.

I’m just grateful that I have remained employed all these years and that my college loans are all paid in full with no help from anyone else.

October 23, 2013. Tags: , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

