New Year Prompt

Prompt: Where were you when 2013 turned into 2014? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

My Response:

I was at my sister’s neighbor’s house, a family who lives across the street from them. I had to take three trains to get there and it was freezing cold, and I wanted to be home. But at the same time, I didn’t want to be alone again on New Year’s Eve.

I figured the distraction of my niece and nephew, and talking to my sister, and watching my brother-in-law DJ at the party would be good for me. My mother always tells me that it’s better to welcome the new year accompanied, than alone.

It was an OK party, I drank a lot, danced, and tried to forget my loneliness. The neighbors were nice people, though I was getting hit on by a brother of the neighbor, which I did not welcome and was kind of annoyed by. I later found out he was ten years younger than me. I wasn’t attracted to him at all, as is usual with the guys who like me.

The neighbor was a girl my age, but with a totally different life. She had a house, was married and had two small sons. Her children spent the time playing with my niece and nephew. We all oohed and awwwed at how cute they were dancing together. Of course it wasn’t my ideal new year’s celebration. After spending so many years with my ex-boyfriend, having a romantic time escaping from the world together over Christmas break and into New Year’s.

Every holiday seems more difficult when your single, but whatever. I’m alive and have my health and possibilities for a different future. That’s what I try to keep in mind, even though the Valentine’s Day decorations are already going up in the stores.

Once the holidays passed, I felt better. I kind of wish I didn’t work at home sometimes, so I could interact with other people more directly on a daily basis. But when there is a huge snowfall, I realize how lucky I am to work from home.

Ironically, when the big snowfall hit, I wanted more than anything to go out and meet people. That is extremely rare for me. I guess that’s just the way it works. I had to wait a while for my anti-depressant medication to start working so I could start feeling social again and stop hiding from everyone and everything.

It was just not the best timing with the weather situation. But it did give me time to write, to meditate, to clean out my closet, to watch some movies I borrowed from my sister, and to exercise. Maybe tonight I’ll finally get back to reading The Help, which somehow went ignored during my whole Christmas vacation week.

I went out today to a drugstore and was met with sidewalks coated by sheets of ice. It was actually safer to walk in the streets with the oncoming traffic (during red lights). And I remembered again how grateful I am to work from home, as the commute tomorrow morning would’ve been horrendous.

January 5, 2014. Tags: , , . writing.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

