Feel Good Story

(Entry below was hand written on 4/20/2014)

Something actually worth writing about happened today. It’s Easter Sunday, so I went to Mass. It was crowded as expected. The priest scolded everyone, saying we should attend Mass every Sunday, as it is only one hour out of the week. I was glad that I went and prayed.

After Mass, I wanted to buy myself some flowers so I walked to ShopRite but it was closed. So I decided to look for someplace open on Broadway. I headed up a side street towards Broadway when I passed by a house.

On the ledge outside of it was an open, black purse. I passed by it, thought it was strange that a purse was just sitting there hanging open for anyone in the street to see and snatch, so I walked back and picked it up.

Looking in the wallet, the address was of the person who lived in the house where the purse was left. I rang the doorbell but no one was home. I looked up the address for the police department online and it was close to where I was.

I went there but all the lights were off and the door was locked. I called them but got an answering machine. I texted my mom, she told me to wait to see if anyone called the cell phone in the purse. There was a missed call. I called the person back but got a voicemail.

I left them a message, and sent texts as well. The purse was a black, Louis Vuitton bag that held this woman’s whole life. She had her cell phone, wallet, train tickets (a big stack), some pay stubs, her keys, photos of children, papers and receipts, a social security card, a hair brush, loose change, her phone charger, a box of tissues, etc

It was full and very heavy. She was lucky no one had taken anything out before I found the purse. So I took it home, waiting for someone to call the cell phone. I went online to check the police department’s number again. I found it and called, this time someone answered.

I said my name and that I found a purse outside of a house that was sitting wide open, and no one was at the residence. The police asked me for the person’s address and I gave it. He said that someone had just reported the purse missing.

He asked me again “You found it?” and I said “yes, I just found it.” He told me an officer had just been sent to the home. I said I would go over to the home and return the purse.

I rushed over, holding this heavy purse, back to that side street. I saw the police car waiting there. When I walked up, I saw a lady, very upset and crying, looking so on edge. I walked up and held up the purse and said “Is this yours?”

The police officer in the car was on the phone with someone and said to them “Oh, never mind.” I guess they were getting ready to trace my call and call me back. The lady saw me, asked “It was you?” and I said yes. And she smiled a huge smile of relief and embraced me tightly for a few moments.

The policeman came out of the car and said “Do you know each other?” And I said no, and explained how I had found the purse while I was walking past the house, and I thought to myself, ‘that doesn’t look right.’ So I went back and picked it up and waited for someone to call the cell phone. I tried the police station but couldn’t find the entrance, it seemed to be closed.

The lady stood with a young man who said “fijate” to her (which sort of means ‘you see?’ in Spanish) while she was crying and so happy. The police asked her to check that everything was inside because someone may have taken something before I found the bag. She checked and saw everything was there and gave me so many thanks and said “God bless you!” with such emotion.

It touched my heart to see all the gratitude in her eyes. The policeman thanked me and said I did a good job. I said it was my pleasure, when he shook my hand. And I shook hands with the lady, and her family members as well, who thanked me many times.

I told her not to worry, to relax, that everything was OK, and told her to be careful about not carrying around her social security number. I said ‘don’t worry’ again, and walked away. I guess she was lucky that I was in the right place at the right time.

If my mom hadn’t pushed me to attend Mass, I probably wouldn’t have gone, and wouldn’t have had the chance to do this good deed for this woman. It gave me a great feeling to do something so positive, it kept me smiling for the rest of the afternoon.

I returned someone’s peace of mind, and that feels really amazing. It made me remember that it’s possible for me to be a force of positivity and kindness in the world, and have an effect on it, in a good way.

April 23, 2014. Tags: . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Comment :)

Trackback URI

